All-Star Game

Posted: July 5, 2010 by amyaubrey in MLB

One of my favorite sporting events is upon us: the Mid-Summer classic, the MLB All-Star Game!  The teams have just been announced & there is still one spot left on each squad.  If you want to vote for the final spot, go to & take your pick. Fans vote for the starting line-up, players vote for the pitchers & back-up players & the managers each get a few choices of their own.  No big surprise, the reigning MVPs (Albert Pujols for the NL & Joe Mauer for the AL) were the leading vote-getters in each league.

AL Starting lineup

C: Joe Mauer, Minnesota Twins

1B: Justin Morneau, Minnesota Twins

2B: Robinson Cano, NY Yankees

3B: Evan Longoria, Tampa Bay Rays

SS: Derek Jeter, NY Yankees

OF: Carl Crawford, Tampa Bay Rays

OF: Ichiro Suzuki, Seattle Mariners

OF: Josh Hamilton, Texas Rangers

DH: Vladimir Guerrero, Texas Rangers

NL Starting lineup

C: Yadier Molina, St. Louis Cardinals

1B: Albert Pujols, St. Louis Cardinals

2B: Chase Utley, Philadelphia Phillies (he is injured so won’t be able to play so Martin Prado of the Atlanta Braves will be taking his place in the starting lineup.)

3B: David Wright, NY Mets

SS: Hanley Ramirez, Florida Marlins

OF: Ryan Braun, Milwaukee Brewers

OF: Andre Ethier, LA Dodgers

OF: Jason Heyward, Atlanta Braves (he is also injured but might be back by the time the game will take place.)

The winner of the game gets home-field advantage during the World Series. This year’s game will be played in Anaheim, CA at Angel Stadium on July 13.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s