Slow Your Role

Posted: July 26, 2010 by NattieLiz in Dallas Cowboys, NFL
Tags: , ,

 Anyone who has ever been in a part of a new team knows that part of your new deal is the inevitable “Rookie Hazing”. It’s a right of passage: guys who get their heads shaved at the start of football season, the girls that are forced to wear stupid outfits and get sloppy drunk, and baseball players having to drunkenly run the bases at midnight (one I have personally witnessed, while in skirts I might add)…The variation of hazing might be different, but the spirit of the tradition is the same: You are the new guy, and to be accepted in this team you have to prove yourself worthy. Every one before you had to go through it, and you will give the same hassle to the rookies that come after you. 

But what happens when someone refuses to go along with the tradition? Over the weekend Cowboys newest addition, Dez Bryant, refused to carry the pads for veteran Roy Williams.  According to ESPNDallas.com, this is how it all went down on Sunday: 

 Roy Williams attempted to hand Dez Bryant his pads after a Sunday practice and Bryant flat out refused to carry his gear. The story quoted Bryant as saying the following, “I’m not doing it,” Bryant said. “I feel like I was drafted to play football, not carry another player’s pads.”

He added,” If I was a free agent, it would still be the same thing. I just feel like I’m here to play football. I’m here to try to help win a championship, not carry someone’s pads. I’m saying that out of no disrespect to [anyone].”

Hmmm I’m pretty sure if I was an NFL vet I would feel like this guy was being a disrespectful brat. Every respectable athlete knows that being a rookie means paying your dues. Dez should think twice about going into camp as a rookie with this kind of reputation. Williams said, “Everybody has to go through it. I had to go through it. No matter if you’re a No. 1 pick or the 7,000th pick, you’ve still got to do something when you’re a rookie. I carried pads. I paid for dinners. I paid for lunches. I did everything I was supposed to do, because I didn’t want to be that guy.”  The question is no longer about rookie traditions, but more about Bryant’s character. All the great players at one point had to carry pads, what makes Dez so special?
It would be in Bryant’s best interest to get that attitude in check now, because it doesn’t look like the Cowboy vets are going to back down.   Roy Williams told ESPNDallas.com he would enact phase two of rookie “hazing.” “We’ll find out. Definitely going to find out,” Roy Williams said. “I don’t know. I’ve seen guys take people’s credit cards and go fill up their cards and wife’s cards and everything. There’s a lot of dirt that goes on in that locker room.”           Hmmm using Credit Cards… Carrying pads doesn’t sound so bad now does it, Dez?

Leave a Reply

