See ya later Gator

Posted: December 9, 2010 by NattieLiz in coaches, NCAA Football
Tags:

Well if Miami had to take a back seat in recruiting with the lack of a head coach in Randy Shannon, then it seems only fair that Florida should as well! Urban Meyer decided to resign yesterday as Football head coach. He arrived in Florida 6 years ago and has changed college football ever since.  Urban Meyer was hired in 2004, his Gators debut with a 32-14 win over Wyoming on Sept. 3, 2005. Sixteen months later, he held the national title trophy above his head following the Gators’ 41-14 dismantling of Ohio State in the BCS Championship Game in Glendale, Ariz.

In a press conference Meyer said this of his ultimate decision to step down: “I have been a Division I football coach for the last 25 years and, during that time, my primary focus has been making a difference in the lives of the young men I have been so fortunate to have coached and building championship programs.  At this time in my life, however, I fully grasp the sacrifices my 24/7 profession has demanded of me, and I know it is time to put my focus on my family and life away from the field.  The decision to step down was a difficult one”.

Meyer will still coach UF through to the Outback Bowl held on New Years Day. WOW! The Football State of Florida is going through some major changes this year, it’s going to be great to watch how this all unfolds!

 

Leave a Reply

